Posted by: Douglas Mehling | January 12, 2008

The problem of getting carried away

Now that I have started doing PowerPoint with my sermons, the preparation time has increased quite a bit.  This will take an investment of time to keep doing this, and I might have to give something up.  Like many PowerPoint users, when you’re creating a presentation you can easily end up getting carried away with all the fine adjustments, and getting interesting pictures, and making the text look just right.  For this particular sermon, I wanted to include some maps of Paul’s second missionary journey.  I already had a good map on my computer that I could easily include, but I wasn’t satisfied with it.  I wanted to present the missionary journey progressively, so I loaded the map into Microsoft paint and carefully erased the line showing Paul’s route.  Then I redrew the route, and created four different maps each showing the different stages of the trip.  Just by reading this you get the idea that it was rather complicated and took some time.  I could have simply used the original map, but being the kind of person I am, it had to look just the way I wanted.  This is just one example of the kind of things I end up making myself do for my presentations.  Hopefully as I get in the habit of doing this, I will figure out ways to increase my efficiency.  Anybody have suggestions on how to keep from getting too carried away?

Responses

  1. Douglas,

    I really enjoyed the sermon today, all of your extra efforts where well worth the time. I heard many positive comments.

    The sermon was very timely as well. It seem to be just what the group need to hear. Especialy the encouragment idea… genius! :o)

    As you mentioned it takes a little extra time to build such a presentation but you also hit the mark with your comment about “efficiency”. Before long you’ll be putting together even more complicated sermons in even less time.

    All in all it was a great motivational sermon.

    Great job Hot Rod! Keep up the good work!

  2. Thanks for the encouragement. A big part of preaching is about effective communication, and visual aids certainly help. I also think a handout that people fill out as I go through the sermon could also help. However, with the lights dimmed for the projector, I’m not sure how that would work. I guess other people can do that because they have brighter projectors.

  3. Handouts would have worked ok, it wasn’t that dark, only a little dim. If you mother could read and keep up with you to assist I don’t think anyone else would have any problems. If you still think this might be an issue, maybe a slighty bigger & bolder font would be easier to read.

    In time you’ll get this thing fine tuned! You’ll do great!


Leave a Reply

Categories

